Every Spring the Academy for Lifelong Learning holds a Remembrance Day to honor the memory of Dr. Earl F. Kauffman.  Dr. Kauffman was one of the individuals most responsible for the creation of the Academy for Lifelong Learning back in 1989.  (To learn more about Dr. Kauffman and the founding of the Academy for Lifelong Learning, please see our Early History document.)

Each year on Kauffman Remembrance Day an award is given in Dr. Kauffman's memory, to recognize a group or individual that has made significant contributions to the Academy.  This recognition has been given annually since 1992, just three years after the Academy's founding.

The Kauffman Luncheon is held in April and is funded via an endowment created by USCA Professor James Kauffman and his family in memory of his father.  All Academy members are sent invitations and are encouraged to attend.  An RSVP is required for event planning purposes.


The annual Kauffman Award for outstanding service to the Academy for Lifelong Learning was presented to Doris Hammond at the annual Earl F. Kauffman Remembrance Day Luncheon, April 12, 2018.

Doris Hammond was born in Cincinnati Ohio, received a BS degree from the University of Cincinnati, an MA degree from Marshall University, was Licensed as a Professional Counselor in South Carolina, and received a PhD in Counseling from University of Georgia.  She has moved about twenty times as an adult, having lived in Michigan, Ohio, New York, Florida, West Virginia, Georgia, and now South Carolina.  She taught elementary school in five of them.
Her family consists of three daughters, two sons-in-law, and one granddaughter.  She also has two dogs who today serve as therapy dogs in Aiken.

Dr. Hammond probably has more history with the Academy for Lifelong Learning than anybody else currently involved with the program.  Doris first resided in Aiken from 1987 to 1998, where she was a Counselor in Aiken County Schools, and an Adjunct Professor at USCA.  During this time she became involved with the new USCA-affiliated senior learning program being spearheaded by Dr. Earl Kauffman in 1989.  In its first year of operation the program consisted of three lectures, the very first of which was given by Dr. Doris Hammond – In Search Of the Fountain of Youth.  She followed this up with Bridging the Generation Gap in 1991.

Doris formed her own private counseling practice in 1990.  In 1998 she moved to Beaufort SC, where she continued her interest in senior education by serving as an instructor in the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at USC Beaufort.  After 14 years she returned to Aiken in 2012 and took up where she left off with the Academy for Lifelong Learning.  Since returning she has taught many Academy courses, among them: Birth Order, Mindfulness, Sex and the New Norms, Your Hit Parade, and Gerontology 101

Doris received many honors and has been a consultant and counselor in too many organizations to list.  Just some of the honors she has received include Make A Difference Day, National Senior Volunteers in School, Who’s Who in The World of Women, and Faculty of the Year award.  She also originated and coached the Synchronized Swimming program here in Aiken.

Doris has been a rare jewel in the crown of the Academy for Lifelong Learning since its inception nearly three decades ago.  It is with great pleasure that the Academy presents Dr. Doris Hammond with its Kauffman Award for 2018.

Dr. Doris Hammond with her Kauffman Award for 2018

Prior Recipients
2017  Jim Farmer
2016  Nancy Meinhardt
2015  Laura Anderson &
Mary Anne Cavanaugh
2014  Dick Baxter
Dr. Deidre Martin
2012 Vince Caughlin
2011 Kathy Schultz
2010 Doug Wilson
Mike Lythgoe
Chuck Braun
LouAnn Ainsworth
Ray Wright
Adele O'Connell
William Scott
Joan Lacombe
Arlene Lane
Ellizabeth Hutchins
Beecher Morton
Bob Alexander
Jean Haynes
Barbara Randall
(data lost)
George Gaudaen
Linda Holmes
Connie Dunbar
Kim Wood Woeber