Picture of Kauffman Placard


Each Spring the Academy for Lifelong Learning honors group or individual that has made significant contributions to the Academy.  This award is given in memory of Dr. Earl F. Kauffman who was one of the individuals most responsible for the creation of the Academy for Lifelong Learning back in 1989. 

To learn more about Dr. Kauffman and the founding of the Academy for Lifelong Learning, please see our Early History document. 

The 2013 recipient, announced at an Academy luncheon on April 18, 2013, is University of South Carolina Aiken Vice Chancellor of University Advancement, Dr. Deidre Martin.

From her beginnings as a farm girl in Omega, GA, Dr. Martin went on to graduate Magna Cum Laude with a double major in Communications/Public Relations and Home Economics from Berry College in Rome, GA. She proceeded on to Georgia State University where she again graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Masters in Education, and received her Doctor of Education in Curriculum and Instruction from University of South Carolina with an impressive 4.0 GPA.

Dr. Martin has has held office, and been an active representative for the University, in many community groups and activities, including Kiwanis, the American Association of University Women, Aiken United Way, and the Greater Aiken Chamber of Commerce. Her impressive list of accomplishments and awards is literally too large to mention here.

Over the years, Dr. Martin has been a strong advocate of the Academy for Lifelong Learning and has helped garner support from the University's leadership.

The Academy is proud to present Dr. Deidre Martin with our twenty-second annual Earl F. Kauffman Award.

Past President Dick Baxter presents Dr. Deidre Martin with
the Earl F. Kauffman Recognition Award for 2013