For information, call:
or email us at:

Recent News

Click an item to read more. Only recent news is shown below; read All The News.

Book Fair 2022

Posted: 2022-09-22 05:17
Book Fair 2022, a CLL fundraiser for its scholarship fund, will be held Saturday, September 24, 10:00 AM – 3:00 PM, in the Etherredge Center Lower and Upper Lobbies on campus. Come meet and talk to real authors. No admission charge, but donations are gratefully accepted.

Class Schedule Updates

Posted: 8:19 AM 9/14/2022
As you likely know, we had a number of errors in our printed catalog. We are also operating in a new working environment with USCA. Those two elements have resulted in inconsistencies in our published class schedule information and in more wait-lists than we want. We apologize for those. The Center and the university are dedicated to eliminating these issues for next semester. For now, we believe you will find consistent information about the class schedule for the fall semester, regardless of where that information is published. Check anywhere in this block to go to the Catalog page for up-to-date schedules and an errata for the printed catalog. Thank you for your patience.

Course Canceled

Posted: 7:23 AM 9/7/2022
The course Introduction to Digital Networks has been canceled for the fall semester due to insufficient enrollment.

Schedule Changes

Posted: 7:11 AM 9/7/2022
Several courses have date and time changes due to an unavoidable change in the instructor's schedule. These courses are: Exploring Windows 10, Making the Most of Your Words, Home Security, and Home Surveillance Systems. To see the changes for a specific course, click anywhere in this block and select the course name from the topical index, under the heading Technology, to display the details for that course.

Section Added

Posted: 5:54 AM 9/6/2022
We have added a second section of the course Google Picasa Photo Editing to accommodate wait-listed students. The added section will be taught on October 17 at 9:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

2022 Kauffman Remembrance Day and Award

The Center for Lifelong Learning is continuing Kauffman Remembrance Day, a tradition begun by the Academy for Lifelong Learning, one of the Center's predecessor organizations. Its purpose is to honor the memory of Dr. Earl F. Kauffman, one of the individuals most responsible for the 1989 creation of the Academy and the bringing of senior education to Aiken area. The 2022 Kauffman Remembrance luncheon was held April 21 in the lobby the Etherredge Center at USC Aiken. Aiken Mayor Rick Osbon gave the invocation.

2022 Kauffman Luncheon in Etherredge Center

Center President Wayne Rickman emceed the event and reported on this first year of operation after the successful merging of the Academy for Lifelong Learning and McGrath Computer Learning Center organizations into the combined Center for Lifelong Learning.

USC Aiken Chancellor Dr. Daniel J. Heimmermann was the keynote speaker. He shared his views on the University's place in the Aiken community and its plans to better meet the needs of the community and become a bigger and more vital part of the community in the future.

Kauffman Award Presentations

Part of the Kauffman Remembrance Day observation is the presentation of the Kauffman Award to an individual or group that has made significant contributions to the organization. This annual award was begun in 1992, just three years after the Academy for Lifelong Learning was organized in 1989. Past Academy President Harriet Haynes presented the awards at this year's luncheon to Vicki Collins and Jim Brown.

Harriet Haynes Receives Special Recognition

The combining of two diverse organizations with decidedly different modes of operation into a single Center for Lifelong Learning was no easy task. Wayne Rickman reads to award plaque presented to Harriet Haynes while David Tavernier looks onIt took well over a year of concerted effort by the board members of both organizations to make this happen. Of all those involved, one stands out as the key to this integration and our first year success, Harriet Haynes.

Harriet was President of the Academy before the merger and continues to serve on the new Center's board. She designed the committees needed to work on the merger and kept everyone's nose to the grindstone until there was the framework for the new organization. This year she has been the backbone of planning and execution. For these reasons, The Board recognizes Harriet's outstanding efforts and authorizes this special Leadership Award.